FAQ – Tattoo

What documents do I need to get a tattoo?

South Carolina state law states that anyone and everyone, regardless of age must present two forms of ID including a valid government issued identification (i.e. driver’s license or passport).

How old do you have to be to get tattooed?

Per South Carolina state law you must be 18 years or older with a valid government issued ID.

Can my parent sign for me if I am under 18?

No, anyone getting tattooed must be 18 years or older regardless of parental consent.

How are your tattoos priced?

Our tattoo prices depend on various factors including the size of the tattoo, details, the location of the tattoo piece and the time it would take to complete the work.

What is the shop minimum?

We have a minimum of per tattoo.

What does the shop minimum include?

An example of what the shop minimum would include is a word or name that is 72pt font size, a Japanese/Chinese symbol, or a flower that is about the size of a half dollar.

Are your tattoo artists certified?

Yes, all of our tattoo artists have received both South Carolina State certification and a DHEC (Department of Health and Environmental Control) certification. They have also received certification for CPS, Blood Born Pathogens, and First Aid.

Are you DHEC Approved?

Yes. We have a DHEC certification which is granted annually by the SC DHEC and is granted only after thorough inspections.

Is your shop clean?

Absolutely! We maintain our piercing tools and piercing environment as clean and sterile as possible. We use the same autoclaves, ultra-sonics, MadaCides, and sterilization techniques as the hospitals do. In addition, there are frequent inspections from DHEC to ensure that the shop is up to code. You are in good hands.

Do you sell after-care for tattoos?

Yes, we offer a tattoo after care kit at the shop. In addition, we provide you with a detailed after-care instructions sheet to follow in taking care of your tattoos. It is everything you need to properly and effective heal a tattoo and prevent it from getting infected.

Can I get tattooed behind my ear, on my neck, or inside of my lip?

Unfortunately not as South Carolina state law restricts anyone from receiving a tattoo on the head, neck or face. That means you cannot get tattooed above your collar bone, or on the back of your neck.

Can you do numbing for tattoos?

Any sort of numbing creams or topical gels usually effect the healing for tattoos. We do not advise their use for smaller tattoos.

Can I administer self-numbing agents to subdue the pain of a tattoo (i.e. alcohol or prescription medication)?

Any person that is visibly intoxicated will be asked to return for a tattoo at a later date.

Do you do UV or glow in the dark tattoos?

No, glow in the dark and UV tattoo ink contain phosphorus and other pigments (the ingredients that make them glow) which are carcinogens and are proven to cause skin cancer.

Do you do white ink tattoos?

White ink tattoos usually do not stay white; at best they fade into a yellow, at worst a gross brown. We do not think white tattoos look very good, and thus usually we advise against them.

Do you sell tattoo supplies (i.e. needles, ink, machines)?


How can I schedule an appointment?

All of our appointments must be made in person. This way we can give you accurate pricing and work with you on what will and will not work for your tattoo. There is also deposit required to schedule an appointment with Dr. Ink.

Can you pick me up?

Yes. Our free limo service can pick you up from and drop you off at your location. To request a pick-up please call our limo at 843-450-6554, or the store 843-445-9988.

FAQ – Tattoo